Review: GlossyBox November 2012

GlossyBox November 2012

Availability: GLOSSYBOX

GlossyBox is a beauty box subscription company. You pay a monthly fee and receive a box of full-sized products and deluxe sample sized products. The monthly boxes come with a mix of makeup, haircare, skincare, and bath items.

This review is for GlossyBox’s November 2012 box of products. In November 2012’s box, you’ll find:

  • Epionce Restorative Hand Cream (Full Size)
  • Illamasqua Lip & Eye Medium Pencil (Full Size)
  • Perfumies Solid Perfume Stick (Full Size)
  • NuMe Style Arganics by NuMe Argan Oil (Travel Size)
  • Skin&Co. Roma Truffle Serum – Hydro-Toning Day Face Serum (Travel Size)

Keep reading for images and my review of the individual products and November 2012’s box as a whole.


The GlossyBox comes in a pale, muted pink box made of heavy cardboard.

Depending on which subscription you choose (1 month, 3 months, 6 months, or a year), you’ll pay anywhere from $21/month to $18/month. The Illamasqua Lip & Eye Medium Pencil, alone, retails for $20.00 and the Epionce Restorative Hand Cream, alone, costs $19.00. So you pretty much recoup the cost of your subscription through just one of the items you receive in the box.

Of course, this assumes that you actually want that product and use it. There is a chance that you’ll receive a box that does not contain a full-sized product that you like. Since you get several products, though, the risk that you’ll pay more than the value of the items you get is very low.

I have done a full review of the Illamasqua Lip & Eye Medium Pencil (in the shade Hex) if you are interested in more information on the quality of that item. For now, here are my quick thoughts on the quality of all the items in November’s box:

The Epionce Restorative Hand Cream is a medium-thick lotion that moisturizes the skin without feeling heavy or sticky. It has a light, very pleasant citrus scent to it.

The Illamasqua Lip & Eye Medium Pencil in Hex is a great product and color for concealing NC20-25 skin or for using on the lash-line to brighten the eye area. It doesn’t work super well in the water-line.

Perfumies Solid Perfume Stick is an absolutely wonderful-smelling solid perfume. It has no alcohol scent to it and is a pretty universally-appealing scent.

The NuMe Argan Oil also smells fantastic, and can help tame fly-away strands and bring some shine to the hair. But it’s otherwise not unique from the many other oil-based haircare products on the market.

I did not try the Skin&Co. Roma Truffle Serum because of the prominent inclusion of fragrance (which should never be included in skincare products!).

Many people will get the value of this box from the Illamasqua pencil alone. (FYI, it comes in different shades for different people.) The hand cream is also very nice, though less unique of a product. My favorite item out of this box is actually the perfume stick because of the fantastic scent and alcohol-free medium it comes in.

I think November’s box is well worth the (at most) $21 you’d pay for it.

GlossyBox Packaging

GlossyBox Packaging

GlossyBox Packaging

GlossyBox November 2012

GlossyBox November 2012

Epionce Restorative Hand Cream Box Packaging

Epionce Restorative Hand Cream

NuMe Style Arganics by NuMe Argan Oil

NuMe Style Arganics by NuMe Argan Oil

Perfumies Solid Perfume Stick in Kissing Bandit

Perfumies Solid Perfume Stick in Kissing Bandit

Skin&Co. Roma Truffle Serum – Hydro-Toning Day Face Serum

Illamasqua Medium Pencil Box Packaging

Illamasqua Medium Pencil in Hex

Illamasqua Medium Pencil in Hex

Illamasqua Medium Pencil in Hex

Illamasqua Medium Pencil in Hex
Disclosure

This sample was provided for consideration purposes by the brand or a PR company. Reviews are always honest and never paid for.


This entry was posted in Brands, Glossybox, Reviews, Swatches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: GlossyBox November 2012

  1. Franseca M. says:

    I am a GlossyBox subscriber. I’m undecided if I want to continue though. I think my biggest problem is that there is a misrepresentation of the boxes bloggers/vloggers receive vs the paying subscriber like myself. I did not receive the hand cream or perfume at all and they sent me another blush which was the same as the previous month. I wish these monthly service companies would be fair and as generous to their customers as they are to the bloggers.

    • Allura says:

      I believe the box I get is exactly what other subscribers receive (I asked the company to make sure). I think the differences you see are actually just the different boxes they send out. Not all the boxes have the same products. If you look at the November box on GlossyBox’s website, it lists several product that I didn’t receive, which some other subscribers will receive.

  2. Ban Alassad says:

    Have you ever tried influenster? You review products on their site, and based on how active you are, you can qualify for a box. I looked into all these subscription boxes, and honestly, I would rather spend my money on something I know I want. I see the appeal in it but I think I will pass. I mean how many of us have all these products that we bought and did not like just sitting around cluttering the place? I don’t need to accumulate more of that lol. Thanks for reviewing this. Your hard work is always appreciated :)

  3. Elena T says:

    it seems like you get your money’s worth. I like that you get 3 full size products, which is great! sadly this subscription box isn’t available in my country

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>